The NHTSA 2019 statistics reveal that 32 people die daily from drunk driving accidents. The staggering figure is a testimony that drunk driving is one of the leading causes of death in the United States.
North Carolina DUI Statistics for 2018
In 2018, there were 1,924 fatal crashes involving alcohol-impaired drivers, and 4,316 people died in these crashes. Driving under the influence is blatant negligence on the driver’s part. When you are driving under the influence, you are endangering not only yourself but others as well.
If you are arrested for a DUI in North Carolina, you must submit a Breathalyzer test. If the device indicates a BAC of .08 percent or greater, you will be arrested and charged with a DUI. You will be charged with a DWI if you refuse to submit to the test.
The consequences of a DUI in North Carolina depend on your previous criminal record and the circumstances of your arrest. A first-time DUI will likely result in a fine, probation, community service, license suspension, and alcohol education classes. If you are found guilty, you may also have to pay court costs, complete a drug assessment, and attend a driver’s education course.
A second-time DUI within a decade of the first conviction will likely result in a longer license suspension and mandatory jail time. A third conviction for DUI or any subsequent DUI within ten years of the second conviction will likely result in a felony conviction. Convicted felons lose their right to drive.
What are the Repercussions of Driving Under the Influence in North Carolina?
If you are convicted of a DUI, you will lose your driving privileges for at least one year and possibly longer. You may also face the following consequences:
- Fines (1st offense $1,000-$2,000)
- Misdemeanor charges are punishable by up to 12 months in jail and up to a $2,500 fine
- Mandatory attendance at an alcohol education program
- Jail time (1st offense 48 hours; 2nd offense 72 hours; 3rd offense 96 hours)
GET A RESPONSE FAST
We handle communication via chat, email, and text to get you a response fast.
Why Having an Attorney is Advantageous
DUI and DWI convictions are serious. If you have been arrested for a DUI, you should speak to an experienced North Carolina DUI attorney about your case. A good attorney can help you fight the charges and protect your rights. An experienced attorney will know how to handle the DMV hearing, obtain a favorable outcome at trial, and avoid a conviction in the first place.
A good attorney will also help you resolve your case with the court sooner, saving you time, money, and stress if you have a suspended license. After a court decision is made, you should try to comply with the terms of your probation. Avoid contact with law enforcement, maintain a clean driving record, and stay in contact with your probation officer. Doing so will help you overcome this difficult time and prevent further consequences.
Free Case Evaluation
At Ambrosino Law firm, we pride ourselves on having the best legal team and staff dedicated to ensuring that families, victims, or drivers are well represented in court. We have extensive legal experience and have successfully fought and won cases for clients from all over the country. By hiring our firm, you can rest assured that your case will be in the hands of a legal team with the experience to handle any situation and the knowledge to make the best decisions for your case.